Cornerstone League

Chapter of the Year Awards

Chapters play a key role in the success of the credit union movement in our region. The Chapter of the Year award recognizes contributions by regional chapters and is based on chapter participation in the following three categories:

  • Political and Regulatory Advocacy
  • Community Involvement/System Support
  • Professional Development

The award winners are recognized at the IMPACT: Cornerstone Annual Meeting.


Chapter of the Year is awarded to one chapter in each group that earns the highest number of points. Additionally, chapters are eligible to receive "special achievement" awards as warranted, one per category.

Chapter group sizes consider the number of credit union per chapter:
Group 1: Chapter with up to 10 credit unions
Group 2: Chapters with 11-20 credit unions
Group 3: Chapters with 21+ credit unions

Chapter Groups

Group 1

Big Spring
East Texas
El Paso
Magic Valley
Northwest Arkansas
San Angelo
Top O Texas
Tyler Area
Wichita Falls

Group 2

Amarillo Area
Central Texas
Coastal Bend
South Plains
Texas Crossroads
Wright Patman (Texarkana - AR & TX)

Group 3

Central Arkansas
Fort Worth
Greater Oklahoma
Green Country
St. Louis

Award Criteria & Application Process

Chapters are reviewed on a variety of criteria focused on three categories. Complete details and point value are available on the Chapter of the Year application below.

Category 1: Political and Regulatory Advocacy includes activities like hosting a lawmaker or industry regulator, PAC fundraising and payroll deduction efforts, and participation in the league’s UNITE program (total of 300 points available).

Category 2: Community Involvement/System Support covers fundraising efforts for the Cornerstone Foundation, Children’s Miracle Network or other system partner, and financial well-being activities (total of 170 points available).

Category 3: Professional Development focuses on leadership and development, including activities geared towards young professionals (total of 200 points available).

Reported activities should have taken place between January-December 2023.

Deadline for submitting for a Chapter award is March 1, 2024.  



Download the Chapter of the Year award spreadsheet, input your activities, and email the completed form to the Chapter Relations team.  Please include the subject line "Chapter of the Year" in the subject line.



If you have any questions, please contact Janine McBee at 800-442-5762 ext. 6634.