Go to:

December 2018
< Nov Jan >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

Early Vote in Texas Primary Begins Today
Tuesday, February 20, 2018 7:00 AM

The early voting period for Texas’ March 6 primary election begins today, Feb. 20, and ends Friday, March 2. Find information for early voting locations and times at your county clerk’s office/website or the Secretary of State’s website.

In 19 House seats, one Senate seat, and one Congressional seat, the incumbents do not face a general election opponent, so the primary voting period is the only opportunity for constituents in those districts to vote for their representation.

In the Texas House, 13 members are not running for reelection, and 47 incumbents face primary opponents. Those 60 seats represent 40 percent of all House seats, making it possible for the House to see a substantial change in membership as a result of the primary election. 

Fifteen of 31 seats in the Texas Senate are up for reelection. Van Taylor of Plano is running for the congressional seat being vacated by Sam Johnson. Phillip Huffines, twin brother to Sen. Don Huffines, and Angela Paxton, wife of Attorney General Ken Paxton, are vying to replace Sen. Taylor. Incumbent senators with primary opposition are Donna Campbell, Craig Estes, Bob Hall, Joan Huffman, Charles Schwertner, Kel Seliger, and John Whitmire.

Eight of 36 members of Texas’ U.S. House delegation are not running for reelection. Joe Barton, Blake Farenthold, Gene Green, Jeb Hensarling, Sam Johnson, Ted Poe, and Lamar Smith are retiring. Beto O’Rourke is running for a seat in the U.S. Senate.

Contact Texas Credit Union Association Legislative and Regulatory Director Charlotte Spencer at 512-853-8511 or for more information.