Close Menu


Leaguer Email Subscription

Please login to manage your subscription.


Abbott appoints CU leaders to Texas Credit Union Commission

by Carrie Buchholz | Aug 12, 2019

Gov. Greg Abbott has appointed Kay Swan, CEO of Ward County Credit Union in Monahans, and David Shurtz, EECU Credit Union in Fort Worth, to the Credit Union Commission for terms that run until Feb. 15, 2025.

Swan began her credit union career in 1991 as the only employee of Ward County Governmental Employees Credit Union and has led the Ward County Credit Union, formerly known as the Ward County Teachers Credit Union, since 1993. She is a graduate of the Southwest CUNA Management School, has served on several committees with the Cornerstone Credit Union League, and is an active volunteer in her community.

Shurtz of Hudson Oaks is the chief risk officer and general counsel for EECU Credit Union in Fort Worth. He is a member of the State Bar of Texas and a volunteer for Junior Achievement, Cook Children’s Radiothon, and Tarrant County Meals on Wheels. He received a Bachelor of Science from the University of Oklahoma and a Juris Doctor from Texas Wesleyan Law School.

The Commission has four industry members and five public members. Retiring industry members are Kay Stewart of North East Texas Credit Union and Missy Morrow of Rio Grande Valley Credit Union.