First Central CU and Arbuckle FCU are 2022 CUNA national award winners

Posted: Nov 16, 2022 | Author: Cornerstone League

Credit Union National Association’s National Awards Committee announced the 2022 recipients of the Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award, Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Member Service Award, and Desjardins Awards for Financial Education. State leagues across the nation selected winners in various asset sizes, and these League winners were then considered for the national awards. 

It was a proud day for the Cornerstone region as two of our own, First Central Credit Union of Hillsboro, Texas, and Arbuckle Federal Credit Union of Ada, Okla., were announced as winners.

  • First Central CU won the Louise Herring Award for applying the credit union philosophy to better financial matters and increase financial education for its members.
  • Arbuckle FCU won the Desjardins Award for helping to increase youth financial literacy.

“Congratulations to all the award winners in this national competition and especially Cornerstone members Arbuckle Federal Credit Union and First Central Credit Union,” said Cornerstone League President/CEO Caroline Willard. “What a treat to see them rise to the top against such strong competition from around the country. Their hard work and commitment to their members and the principles and philosophy that distinguish credit unions from other financial institutions make me exceedingly proud.”

The Dora Maxwell Award honors credit unions for outstanding social responsibility projects in their communities. First-place winners for the Dora Maxwell Award include: 

    • East River FCU (S.D.) 
    • Atlantic City FCU (Wyo.) 
    • Clackamas FCU (Ore.) 
    • Genisys CU (Mich.) 
    • Maine Credit Union League

    The Louise Herring Award recognizes credit unions that demonstrate the internal application of credit union philosophy to help better financial matters and increase financial education for their members. First-place winners for the Louise Herring Award include: 

    • Northpark Community CU (Ind.) 
    • First Central CU (Texas) 
    • Mutual Security CU (Conn.) 
    • Great Lakes CU (Ill.)

    The Desjardins Awards honor credit unions, chapters, and leagues for their commitment to both youth and adult financial literacy. First-place winners for the Desjardins Awards include: 

      Desjardins Adult 

      1. MC FCU (Pa.) 
      2. Legacy Community FCU (Ala.) 
      3. Meriwest CU (Calif.) 
      4. Maine Credit Union League 

    Desjardins Youth

      1. Arbuckle FCU (Okla.)
      2. SPC CU (S.C.) 
      3. Commonwealth One FCU (Va.)
      4. Altra FCU (Wis.)

    View the full list of winners and award descriptions.


    Sign up to the receive the weekly Leaguer email. Existing subscribers can manage their subscription.

    Share Your Stories

    Have a story you'd like to see in the Leaguer? Be sure to share it with us.

    New Podcast

    Cornerstone League Podcast

    Now available on  Spotify and Apple Podcasts.

    Perspectives Magazine

    Perspectives Vol 17 Issue 4

    Read the latest issue.