Go to:

April 2019
< Mar May >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

Time to Submit Nominations for National Social Responsibility Awards
Monday, April 30, 2018 7:00 AM

Each year, Credit Union National Association's awards program recognizes distinguished credit unions that raise the bar the highest in demonstrating social responsibility, the credit union philosophy, and financial education. The awards are named in honor of three credit union pioneers, Dora Maxwell, Louise Herring, and Alphonse Desjardins, who lived out the core values still practiced by credit unions today. 

Dora Maxwell Award

Dora Maxwell Award (social responsibility)
Since 1987, the Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Recognition Award has honored credit unions as good corporate citizens. Some sponsor ongoing programs and establish a special relationship with local social service agencies or school programs. Other programs address many different needs in the community. No matter the size or scope of a project, each participating credit union builds its reputation as a good corporate citizen along the way.

Louise Herring AwardLouise Herring Award (credit union philosophy)
Beginning in 1990, the Louise Herring Award for Philosophy in Action has commended credit unions that make exceptional efforts to include credit union philosophy in their daily operations and member service.  Programs that provide financial education to particular member groups within the credit union or special assistance to low-income members struggling to pay heating bills, for example, are clear examples of the philosophy that sets credit unions apart from other financial institutions.

Desjardins AwardAlphonse Desjardins Award (financial education)
The Desjardins program was created to recognize leadership within the credit union movement on behalf of financial literacy for youth and adults. This recognition program considers all activities supporting the personal finance education of members and non-members, including, but not limited to, face-to-face teaching using proprietary materials and curricula, such as the NEFE High School Financial Planning Program (HSFPP), or the CU 4 Reality Financial Education Program as well as financial literacy leadership efforts.

Credit unions may enter any of the awards program in one of four asset categories or the chapter/multiple credit unions' category. In an effort to streamline the submission process for our member credit unions and to reduce financial and human resources spent on the submission process, CUNA and the leagues have collaborated to produce one standardized format and online submission process for our member credit unions. 

Get more information.

Please note: you will not have a login or password until you start a submission (links below). Your current login/password for does not transfer to this site.

Submission Links

Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award

Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Member Service Award

Desjardins Financial Education Awards (Youth & Adult)

Returning entrants can click here to review their current submissions.