Go to:

July 2018
< Jun Aug >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

Texas State Credit Union Department Authorizes Temporary Closures
Wednesday, August 30, 2017 6:55 AM

State Credit Union Department Commissioner Harold E. Feeney issued an order on Aug. 29, 2017, authorizing the temporary closure of credit union offices in areas affected by Hurricane Harvey and the resulting flooding.

Disaster declarations exist in the following counties: Aransas, Atascosa, Austin, Bastrop, Bee, Bexar, Brazoria, Brazos, Burleson, Caldwell, Calhoun, Cameron, Chambers, Colorado, Comal, DeWitt, Fayette, Fort Bend, Galveston, Goliad, Gonzales, Grimes, Guadalupe, Hardin, Harris, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jim Wells, Karnes, Kerr, Kleberg, Lavaca, Lee, Leon, Liberty, Live Oak, Madison, Matagorda, Montgomery, Newton, Nueces, Polk, Refugio, San Jacinto, San Patricio, Tyler, Victoria, Walker, Waller, Washington, Wharton, Willacy, and Wilson counties

The order authorizes “credit unions organized under the laws of the State of Texas, at their discretion, to temporarily close offices in the areas indicated above and other areas that may be impacted by Hurricane Harvey and related weather conditions, until appropriate human resources, utilities and security can be restored to safely serve the financial service needs of the affected credit union members. It is specifically directed that only those credit union offices directly affected by severe weather will close for more than three consecutive business days.”

The closure of offices is “contingent upon that credit union furnishing regular progress reports to the Department detailing the actions being taken to restore full service to the membership.”