Go to:

April 2019
< Mar May >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

Texas Special Election Results
Thursday, February 19, 2015 6:50 AM

Four special elections were held in Texas on Tuesday, Feb. 17, to elect one Senate seat and three seats in the House of Representatives.

Democrat José Menéndez defeated his House colleague, Rep. Trey Martinez Fischer, to succeed Sen. Leticia Van de Putte in Senate District 26. Rep. Martinez Fischer will continue to represent House District 116, and a special election will be called to fill Rep. Menéndez’s vacancy in House District 124.

Two open House seats were in the Central Texas area. Caldwell attorney Leighton Schubert (R) was elected to represent House District 13, defeating County Judge Carolyn Cerny Bilski (R), 57 percent to 43 percent. In House District 17, former Caldwell County Commissioner John Cyrier (R) got 52 percent of the vote to win over Bastrop businessman Brent Golemon (R), who received 48 percent. 

In the San Antonio area, former City Council member Diego Bernal (D) defeated Republican Nunzio Previtera to succeed Rep, Mike Villarreal in House District 123. The vote was 64 percent to 36 percent.