Go to:

July 2018
< Jun Aug >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

Texas Senate Confirms New Members to Texas CU Commission
Wednesday, May 24, 2017 6:40 AM

The Senate approved Gov. Greg Abbott’s appointments to the Texas Credit Union Commission on May 21, 2017. The nine-member Credit Union Commission is responsible for overseeing the activities of the Credit Union Department. Four members of the Commission come from the credit union industry and the other five represent the general public. It is a board of private citizens appointed by and responsible to the Governor of Texas. 

New credit union industry member Jim Minge is the president and CEO of the Texas Trust Credit Union in Arlington. He is a member of the Texas State Society of Public Accountants and the Fort Worth Chapter of the Texas State Society of Public Accountants. His term will expire on Feb. 15, 2023.

Current public member Sherri B. Merket was reappointed to the Commission. Merket is an executive assistant at Hillander Private School in Midland and a member of the Daughters of the Republic of Texas and the Midland County Historical Commission. Ricky “Rick” Ybarra of Austin is a new public member. He is the director of development for St. Edward’s University and a member of the Estate Planning Council of Central Texas, the Charitable Gift Planners of Austin, and the AGE of Central Texas Board of Directors. Their terms will also expire on Feb. 15, 2023.

The Senate also approved the appointments of current members who were appointed on July 27, 2015. Credit union industry member Steve Gilman is president and CEO of Houston Texas Fire Fighters FCU and previously served in the same capacity at Members Choice CU in Houston. Public member Beckie Stockstill Cobb is an insurance agent and served on the Deer Park city council for 12 years. Yusuf Farran of El Paso, also a public member, is a practicing civil/mechanical engineer with extensive civic service, including the Texas Commission on Fire Protection and several boards for the city of El Paso. Their terms will expire on Feb. 15, 2021.

Current Commission member Missy Morrow, CEO of the RGV Credit Union, will be the presiding officer of the Commission. The next meeting of the Credit Union Commission is scheduled for July 14, 2017.

For more information, please contact Texas Credit Union Association President Jeff Huffman at 469-385-6488 or