Go to:

May 2018
< Apr Jun >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

Texas Senate Committees Announced
Tuesday, January 27, 2015 6:55 AM

On Friday, Jan. 23, Lt. Gov. Dan Patrick announced his committees for the 84th Legislature. The primary committees of interest to credit unions are Business and Commerce and Finance.

Kevin Eltife (R) SD1 is chair of the Business and Commerce Committee. Other members of the committee are Brandon Creighton (R) SD13, Rodney Ellis (D) SD13, Don Huffines (R) SD16, Charles Schwertner (R) SD5, Kel Seliger (R) SD31, Larry Taylor (R) SD8, Kirk Watson (D) SD14, and John Whitmire (D) SD15.

The Finance committee is chaired by Jane Nelson (R) SD12 and the Vice Chair is Juan "Chuy" Hinojosa (D) SD20. The other members are Paul Bettencourt (R), freshman senator from SD7, Kevin Eltife, Kelly Hancock (R) SD9, Joan Huffman (R) SD17, Lois Kolkhorst (R), freshman from SD18, Robert Nichols (R) SD3, Charles Schwertner, Kel Seliger, Larry Taylor, Carols Uresti (D) SD19, Kirk Watson, Royce West (D) SD23, and John Whitmire.

Newly elected Sen. Charles Perry is chair of the Agriculture, Water and Rural Affairs Committee. The other standing committees are Administration, Criminal Justice, Education Health and Human Services, Higher Education, Intergovernmental Relations, Natural Resources and Economic Development, Nominations, State Affairs, Transportation, and Veteran Affairs and Military Installations.

If you have any questions about the Senate committee assignments, contact Charlotte Spencer, legislative and regulatory director, at (512) 853-8511 or