Go to:

April 2019
< Mar May >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

Texas Primary Runoff Election Results
Wednesday, May 23, 2018 7:00 AM

The slate of candidates for the Texas general election in November is now complete. In the only statewide runoff race, former Dallas County Sheriff Lupe Valdez defeated Andrew White to be the Democratic nominee for governor and will face Gov. Greg Abbott in the general election. Incumbent Texas House members René Oliveira and Scott Cosper lost their runoffs.

Candidates in Congressional Races

Dallas/Fort Worth

District 3/Sam Johnson retiring. Democrat Lorie Burch defeated Sam Johnson; faces Republican Van Taylor.

District 5/Jeb Hensarling, retiring. Republican Lance Gooden defeated Bunni Pounds; faces Democrat Dan Wood.

District 6/Joe Barton, retiring. Republican Ron Wright defeated Jake Ellzey; Democrat Jana Lynne Sanchez defeated Ruby Faye Woolridge.

District 25/Roger Williams, incumbent. Democrat Julie Oliver defeated Chris Perri; faces Republican Roger Williams.

District 32/Pete Sessions, incumbent. Democrat Colin Allred defeated Lillian Salerno; faces Republican Pete Sessions.


District 2/Ted Poe, retiring. Republican Dan Crenshaw defeated Kevin Roberts; faces Democrat Todd Litton.

District 7/John Culberson, incumbent. Democrat Lizzie Pannill Fletcher defeated Laura Moser; faces Republican John Culberson.

District 22/Pete Olson, incumbent. Democrat Sri Preston Kulkarni defeated Letitia Plummer; faces Republican Pete Olson.

District 29/Gene Green, retiring. Republican Phillip Aronoff defeated Carmen Maria Montiel; faces Democrat Sylvia Garcia.

Central/Austin/San Antonio

District 10/Mike McCaul, incumbent. Democrat Mike Siegel defeated Tawana Walter-Cadien; faces Republican Mike McCaul. 

District 23/Will Hurd, incumbent. Democrat Gina Ortiz Jones defeated Rick Treviño; faces Republican Will Hurd.  

District 31/John Carter, incumbent. Democrat Mary Jennings (MJ) Hegar defeated Christine Eady Mann; faces Republican John Carter.

District 21/Lamar Smith, retiring. Republican Chip Roy defeated Matt McCall; Democrat Joseph Kopser defeated Mary Street Wilson.

Corpus Christi

District 27/Blake Farenthold, resigned. Republican Michael Cloud defeated Bech Bruun; Democrat Eric Holguin defeated Roy Barrera.

Candidates in Texas House Races

Dallas/Fort Worth

District 62/Larry Phillips, retiring. Republican Reggie Smith defeated Brent Lawson; faces Democrat Valerie Hefner.

District 64/Lynn Stucky, incumbent. Democrat Andrew Morris defeated Mat Pruneda; faces Republican Lynn Stucky.

District 107/Victoria Neave, incumbent. Republican Deanna Maria Metzger defeated Joe Ruzicka; faces Democrat Victoria Neave.

District 109/Helen Giddings, retiring. Democrat Carl Sherman defeated Deshaundra Lockhart Jones; there is no Republican candidate in the race.


District 133/Jim Murphy, incumbent. Democrat Marty Schexnayder defeated Sandra Moore; faces Republican Jim Murphy.

North East Texas

District 4/Lance Gooden, ran for Congress. Republican Keith Bell defeated Stuart Spitzer; faces Democrat Eston Williams. 

District 8/Byron Cook, retiring. Republican Cody Harris defeated Thomas McNutt; faces Democrat Wesley Ratcliff.   

Central/Austin/San Antonio

District 13/Leighton Schubert, resigned. Republican Ben Leman defeated Jill Wolfskill; faces Democrat Cecil Webster, Sr.  

District 45/Jason Isaac, ran for congressional seat. Democrat Erin Zwiener defeated Rebecca Bell-Metereau; faces Republican Ken Strange.

District 46/Dawnna Dukes, incumbent. Democrat Sheryl Cole defeated Chito Vela; faces Republican Gabriel Nila. 

District 47/Paul Workman, incumbent. Democrat Vikki Goodwin defeated Elaina Fowler; faces Republican Paul Workman.

District 54/Scott Cosper, incumbent. Republican Brad Buckley defeated Scott Cosper; faces Democrat Kathy Richerson.

District 121/Joe Straus, retiring. Republican Steve Allison defeated Matt Beebe; faces Democrat Celina Montoya.


District 37/René Oliveira, incumbent. Democrat Alex Dominguez defeated René Oliveira; there is no Republican candidate in the race.

Candidates in Texas Senate races

District 17/Joan Huffman, incumbent. Democrat Fran Watson defeated Rita Lucido; faces Republican Joan Huffman.

For more information, please contact Texas Credit Union Association President Jeff Huffman at 469-385-6488 or