Go to:

March 2019
< Feb Apr >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

Texas House Speaker Joe Straus Announces He Won't Seek Re-election
Thursday, October 26, 2017 7:00 AM

Joe Straus

Texas House Speaker Joe Straus (R-San Antonio) announced Wednesday he will not run for re-election in 2018 but will serve until the end of his term. The news means there will be a new Speaker when the Texas Legislature convenes in 2019.

"I believe that in a representative democracy, those who serve in public office should do so for a time, not for a lifetime," Straus said in a Facebook post. "And so I want you to know that my family and I have decided that I will not run for re-election next year. My time as a State Representative and as Speaker will end at the conclusion of my current term."

Straus was first elected in 2003 and has been Speaker since 2009. If he had remained in office and been reelected as Speaker, he would have set a record for being the first to serve six terms as Speaker of the Texas House.

Shortly after Straus’ announcement, Rep. Byron Cook (R-Corsicana), chairman of the House State Affairs Committee, issued a statement that he also would not run for re-election: "It is an honor to represent the families of Anderson, Freestone, Hill, and Navarro Counties in the Texas House of Representatives. However, I will not seek a 9th term in the upcoming March 2018 Republican primary for the Texas House of Representatives.”

Texas Credit Union Association President Jeff Huffman said, "Next year’s elections are shaping up to be a lot of tough, hotly contested races."

With the announcements yesterday, eight Republican House members have announced they will not seek re-election. Thirty Republicans in the House already have primary opponents, three Republicans have Democratic opponents, and seven Democrats have drawn primary opponents. In the Texas Senate, one Republican has announced they will not seek re-election and seven senators have opponents who have announced for either the primary or general election.

For more information, contact Texas Credit Union Association President Jeff Huffman at 469-385-6488 or