Go to:

March 2019
< Feb Apr >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

Texas House of Representatives Committees Announced
Monday, February 13, 2017 6:55 AM

Speaker of the Texas House Rep. Joe Straus announced the standing committee appointments for the current legislative session. Now that the committees have been formed, action on proposed bills will begin. The Texas Credit Union Association is following all proposed legislation that would affect credit unions and will report on the status of bills as they move through the process.

Several committees of particular importance to credit unions have retained the same chairs as last session. Tan Parker heads the Investments and Financial Services Committee. Vice chair is Phil Stephenson, and other members are Dustin Burrows, Jay Dean, Justin Holland, Eric Johnson, and Oscar Longoria.

Dennis Bonnen and Yvonne Davis lead the Ways and Means Committee. Dwayne Bohac, Eric Johnson, Jim Murphy, Richard Raymond, Drew Darby, Andrew Murr, Hugh Shine, Drew Springer, Jr., and Phil Stephenson also serve.

Business and Industry’s chair is René Oliveira, vice chair is Hugh Shine. The remaining members are Ramon Romero, Jr., Jonathan Stickland, Jason Villalba, and Paul Workman.

The Calendars Committee will be led by Todd Hunter with vice chair Donna Howard. Roberto Alonzo, Trent Ashby, Bryon Cook, Sarah Davis, Charlie Geren, Helen Giddings, Kyle Kacal, Ken King, Linda Koop, Poncho Nevárez, Chris Paddie, Dade Phelan, and Toni Rose round out the roster.

Full information on all committees and their membership can be found here.

For more information, please contact Texas Credit Union Association President Jeff Huffman at 469-385-6488 or