Go to:

March 2019
< Feb Apr >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

Texas House Committees Announced
Friday, February 6, 2015 6:55 AM

Speaker Joe Straus announced the committees for the 84th Legislature late on Wednesday Feb. 4. There are 40 committees in all. Of particular interest to credit unions are the Investments and Financial Services, Business and Industry, Ways and Means, and Appropriations committees.

The Investments and Financial Services Committee will be chaired by Tan Parker (R). Other members are Oscar Longoria (D), Dan Flynn (R), Giovanni Capriglione (R), Brooks Landgraf (R), Joe Pickett (D), and Phil Stephenson (R).

René Oliveira (D) is chair of the Business and Industry Committee. Other members are Ron Simmons (R), Nicole Collier (D), Allen Fletcher (R), Matt Rinaldi (R), Ramon Romero, Jr. (D), and Jason Villalba (R).

The Ways and Means Committee is comprised of Chairman Dennis Bonnen (R), who is also Speaker Pro Tempore, Yvonne Davis (D), Dwayne Bohac (R), Angie Chen Button (R), Jim Murphy (R), Chris Turner (D), Drew Darby (R), Trey Martinez Fischer (D), Tan Parker (R), Drew Springer, Jr. (R), and John Wray (R).

Chair John Otto (R) and Vice-Chair Sylvester Turner (D) will lead the 27-member Appropriations Committee, which includes Trent Ashby (R), Cecil Bell, Jr. (R), Greg Bonnen (R), Cindy Burkett (R), Giovanni Capriglione (R), Sarah Davis (R), Dawnna Dukes (D), Helen Giddings (D), Larry Gonzales (R), Donna Howard (D), Bryan Hughes (R), Marisa Márquez (D), Ruth Jones McClendon (D), Borris Miles (D), Linda Koop (R), Oscar Longoria (D), Rick Miller (R), Sergio Muñoz, Jr. (D), Dade Phelan (R), Four Price (R), John Raney (R), Justin Rodriguez (D), J.D. Sheffield (R), and Gary VanDeaver (R), and Armando Walle (D).

Other committees of interest are Pensions, Chairman Dan Flynn (R); Government Transparency and Operations, Chairman Gary Elkins (R); Calendars, Chairman Todd Hunter (R); and Insurance, Chairman John Frullo (R).

If you have any questions about the Senate committee assignments, contact Charlotte Spencer, legislative and regulatory director, at 512-853-8511 or