Go to:

July 2018
< Jun Aug >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

TCUL Clarifies Difference between Louise Herring, Dora Maxwell Awards
Tuesday, April 9, 2013 6:55 AM

The Texas Credit Union League (TCUL) is now accepting entries for the Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award and the Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Member Service Award.  Entries are being accepted only through Aug. 1.  TCUL has received inquiries from credit unions interested in participating in the award program, but needing clarification on the difference between the Dora Maxwell and the Louise Herring.


The best way to explain it is that the Dora Maxwell is given for external activities, while the Louise Herring is awarded for internal programs and services that benefit membership.


In the Dora Maxwell competition, credit unions could receive an award for involvement in almost any kind of activity that helps other people or strengthens the structure of a community.  This might include raising funds for charity, educational activities, or community involvement projects, such as a volunteer fair, building low-income housing, or loaning employees a few hours a week to work in hospitals, retirement homes, schools, etc.   


In the Louise Herring competition, credit unions could receive an award for programs or policies that demonstrate their commitment to the practical application of the "people-helping-people" philosophy.  Some examples of eligible activities are:

  • Provisions for the small saver or borrower
  • Member programs for groups that are often economically challenged
  • Internal programs or services that help to differentiate the credit union from other financial services' providers
  • Programs that do an extraordinary job of encouraging thrift and provide a source of unbiased money management and consumer information, which would be difficult or impossible to obtain elsewhere
  • Evidence of an exceptional degree of service to members 

Credit unions can submit entries in both competitions; however, they cannot submit the same entry in both competitions. TCUL will advance only first place winners in each award category to the Credit Union National Association (CUNA) for judging in the national competition.  There is not entry fee for credit unions to submit their entries to TCUL.  CUNA does charge an entry fee; however, as a membership benefit, TCUL covers the entry fee for all first place winners from Texas.  Only TCUL-affiliated credit unions can participate.


Additional information on the national awards program can be found on TCUL’s web site, at 


If you have any questions, please contact Linda Webb-Mañon, TCUL vice president of communications & PR, at (469) 385-6486 or (800) 442-5762, ext. 6486.  You may also e-mail


The deadline to submit entries for the 2013 award program is Aug. 1.