Go to:

February 2019
< Jan Mar >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

Retiring Texas House and Senate Members
Thursday, July 16, 2015 6:55 AM

Eleven members of the Texas House and two members of the Texas Senate have announced that they will not run for re-election. Rep. Sylvester Turner (D-Houston) has represented Houston since 1989 and plans to run for mayor of Houston. Rep. David Simpson (R-Longview) and Rep. Bryan Hughes (R-Mineola) are giving up their House seats to run for Senate District 1, currently occupied by the retiring Sen. Keith Eltife (R-Tyler).

Retiring Republican House members are Scott Turner (Frisco), Jim Keffer (Eastland), Jimmie Don Aycock (Killeen), Allen Fletcher (Tomball), John Otto (Dayton), and Patricia Harless (Spring). The retiring Democrats are Joe Farias (San Antonio) and Marisa Márquez (El Paso).

Long serving Sen. Troy Fraser (R-Horseshoe Bend) will also be retiring at the end of his term.

For more information, contact Legislative and Regulatory Director Charlotte Spencer at or 512-853-8511.