Go to:

January 2019
< Dec Feb >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

Republicans Lose Newberry Seat in Special Election
Thursday, November 16, 2017 7:00 AM

Oklahoma Democrats continue to pick up ground in special elections to fill open seats in the Oklahoma State Legislature.

Democrats were successful in picking up one of three seats in this week’s voting. Allison Ikley-Freeman narrowly defeated Republican Brian O’Hara for the Senate District 37 seat. That seat is being vacated by Sen. Dan Newberry who is resigning to assume new duties at TTCU Federal Credit Union in Tulsa. Ikley-Freeman won with 50.35 percent over O’Hara’s 49.65 percent vote percentage. Only 31 votes separated the two.

Republican Paul Rosino defeated Democrat Steven Vincent for the Senate District 45 seat. Rosino took nearly 57 percent of the vote to win the seat left empty by the resignation of Kyle Loveless.

Republican Ross Ford won by a large margin over Democrat Chris Van Landingham for the House District 76 seat. Ford took the race with 68 percent of the vote. That seat was left empty by the untimely death of Rep. David Brumbaugh.

The Senate District 37 seat represents the fourth pick for Democrats in this year’s flurry of special elections.

If you have any questions, please contact Oklahoma Credit Union Association President Nate Webb at or 405-445-1510.