Go to:

March 2019
< Feb Apr >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

Legislative and Congressional Candidates Set for 2018 Texas Elections
Friday, December 15, 2017 6:55 AM

The candidate filing period in Texas closed Dec. 11 for the primary election that will be held March 6, 2018. Early voting begins Tuesday, Feb. 20, and ends March 2.

U.S. House of Representatives
Eight of the 36 members of the U.S. House of Representatives have chosen not to run for re-election. Rep. Beto O’Rourke (D-El Paso) will challenge Sen. Ted Cruz for a Senate seat. The other retiring members are Ted Poe (R-Humble) and Gene Green (D-Houston), Lamar Smith (R-San Antonio), Republicans Sam Johnson, Jeb Hensarling, and Joe Barton in the DFW area and Blake Farenthold (R-Corpus Christi).

Current House members running for reelection are Louie Gohmert (R-Tyler), John Ratcliffe (R-Heath), Mike Conaway (R-Midland), Mac Thornberry (R-Amarillo), Jodey Arrington (R-Lubbock), Brian Babin (R-Woodville), Henry Cuellar (D-Laredo), Filemon Vela (D-Brownsville), Vicente Gonzalez (D-McAllen), and Blake Farenthold (R-Corpus Christi), Joaquín Castro (D-San Antonio), and Will Hurd (R-San Antonio).

Also running for reelection in Central Texas are Republicans Michael McCaul, Bill Flores, John Carter, and Roger Williams and Democrat Lloyd Doggett. Running for reelection in the Dallas/Fort Worth area are Republicans Kay Granger, Kenny Marchant, Michael Burgess, and Pete Sessions and Democrats Eddie Bernice Johnson and Marc Veasey. Running for reelection in the Houston area are Republicans John Culberson, Kevin Brady, Pete Olson, and Randy Weber and Democrats Al Green and Sheila Jackson Lee.

Two members, Castro and Cuellar, have no opponent in either the primary or general election. Al Green and Eddie Bernice Johnson have primary opponents but no opponent in the general election. Incumbents with no primary opponent are Arrington, Babin, Culberson, Doggett, Flores, Gonzalez, Granger, Marchant, Thornberry, Williams, Veasey, and Vela.

In open seats, there are 16 Republicans and five Democrats in CD 21 (Smith), 11 Republicans and six Democrats in CD 6 (Barton), 10 Republicans and one Democrat running in CD 5 (Hensarling), eight Republicans and eight Democrats running in CD 2 (Poe), six Democrats in CD 16 (O’Rourke), and six Democrats in CD 29 (G. Green).

Texas Senate
In the Texas Senate, 15 of the 31 seats are up for reelection. All but one, Van Taylor (R-Plano), are running again. Taylor is running for the congressional seat held now by the retiring Sam Johnson. Phillip Huffines, twin brother to Sen. Don Huffines, and Angela Paxton, wife of Attorney General Ken Paxton, are vying to replace Sen. Taylor.

Other senators up for re-election are Bob Hall (R-Canton), Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville), Charles Schwertner (R-Georgetown), DFW area Republicans Kelly Hancock, Don Huffines, and Konni Burton. Kirk Watson (D-Austin), John Whitmire (D-Houston), Joan Huffman (R-Houston), Royce West (D-Dallas), Paul Bettencourt (R-Houston), Donna Campbell (R-New Braunfels), Craig Estes (R-Wichita Falls), and Kel Seliger (R-Amarillo).

Sen. Sylvia Garcia (D-Houston) is running for the seat being vacated by Gene Green, but her senate seat is not up for reelection in 2018, and she therefore does not have to give up her seat to run for the congressional office.

Sens. Nichols, Watson, and West do not have an opponent in either the primary or general election; Bettencourt, Hancock, Burton, and D. Huffines have no primary opponent; and Estes and Seliger will not face an opponent in the general election.

Texas House of Representatives
All seats in the Texas House are up for reelection. Thirteen of the 150 members are not running. Jason Isaac (R-Dripping Springs) is running to replace Rep. Lamar Smith in the U.S. House, as is a former congressman from San Antonio, Francisco ‘Quico’ Canseco. Current House member Lance Gooden (R-Terrell) and former House member Kenneth Sheets want to replace Jeb Hensarling of Dallas. House member Kevin Roberts (R-Houston) is running for Ted Poe’s seat; Pat Fallon (R-Frisco) will not run for reelection to challenge Sen. Craig Estes Wichita Falls; and Cindy Burkett (R- Sunnyvale) will run for the Senate seat currently held by Sen. Hall instead of her House seat.

Other retiring members of the House of Representatives are Republicans Larry Gonzales and Leighton Schubert in Central Texas, Mark Keough (R-The Woodlands), Larry Phillips (R-Sherman), Jodie Laubenberg (R-Colin County), Helen Giddings (D-DeSoto), Joe Straus (R-San Antonio), and Byron Cook (R-Corsicana).

Forty-four incumbents will not face an opponent in either the primary or general election, 39 have no primary opponent, and 28 have no general election opposition.

The last day to register to vote is Feb. 5, 2018. The Secretary of State’s website has registration information at Vote Texas. Find out who your elected officials are and your legislative district information here.

For more information, please contact Texas Credit Union Association President Jeff Huffman at 469-385-6488 or