Go to:

April 2019
< Mar May >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

JSC FCU's Curtis Collins Honored as 2016 Volunteer of the Year
Friday, June 24, 2016 6:55 AM

Curtis Collins with Mike Delker

Curtis Collins was awarded the 2016 Volunteer of the Year award during this week's Volunteers Forum in San Antonio. In so doing, he was recognized for his many accomplishments and dedication of time and effort in support of the credit union movement.

Incredibly, Collins has been a volunteer at JSC Federal Credit Union for more than 50 years. He has served on their board of directors for 33 years, as chairman for eight years and secretary for six. 

But Collins' reach and influence extends beyond his own credit union. He also currently serves on the Cornerstone Credit Union League board as an associate director, and as an executive committee member on Cornerstone's Volunteers Council. Collins has also served as chairman on the Cornerstone Credit Union Foundation's board of trustees.

JSC FCU President/CEO Michael Brown said of Collins, “He has been an integral part of our institution’s success. He epitomizes the true meaning of the credit union spirit and remains dedicated to the credit union initiative, serving in any capacity he can with dignity, honesty, and integrity. Anyone lucky enough to be associated with him knows this.”

Collins can add this Volunteer of the Year award to his long list of accolades, including:

  • 2010 Inductee of the Texas Credit Union Hall of Fame
  • 2003 Texas Credit Union League Volunteer of the Year
  • 2001 Credit Union Development Educator of the Year – Community Service CUNA
  • 2000 & 2011 National Volunteer of the Year (CUs over $150M) – National Association of Federal Credit Unions
  • Federal Agency (NASA) Exceptional Service Medal – 1986

Cornerstone extends its thanks to the sponsors of the Volunteers Forum. CURI sponsored the welcome reception and a $500 cash drawing, and the CUNA Mutual Group sponsored the general session featuring keynoter Steven Rick.