Go to:

July 2018
< Jun Aug >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

HR 3048 Exempting Credit Unions from CFPB Rules Adds Cosponsors
Friday, May 13, 2016 7:00 AM

The Community Financial Institution Exemption Act, HR 3048, now has 42 cosponsors in Congress. This includes the entire Oklahoma delegation, three of the four representatives from Arkansas, and 16 of the 36 from Texas. In addition to the Cornerstone Credit Union League states, 15 other states have at least one representative cosponsoring this regulatory relief legislation.

"It is gratifying to see support for this legislation growing," said Dick Ensweiler, president of Cornerstone Credit Union League. "We thank all of the members of Congress who are willing to stand up to the regulators and fight for the future of our credit unions."

Rep. Roger Williams of Texas is the author of the HR 3048. The 42 cosponsors representing 18 states are:

Arkansas: French Hill, Bruce Westerman, and Eric Crawford
Oklahoma: Frank Lucas, Tom Cole, Steve Russell, Markwayne Mullin, and Jim Bridenstine
Texas: Kenny Marchant, Lamar Smith, Bill Flores, Louie Gohmert, Will Hurd, John Culberson, Henry Cuellar, Randy Weber, Michael Conaway, Pete Sessions, Ted Poe, Brian Babin, John Carter, John Ratcliffe, Pete Olson, and Kay Granger
Colorado: Scott Tipton
Florida: Dennis Ross and Bill Posey
Georgia: Lynn Westmoreland
Kansas: Lynn Jenkins
Kentucky: Andy Barr
Minnesota: Tom Emmer
Missouri: Blaine Luetkemeyer
New Hampshire: Frank Guinta
New Mexico: Stevan Pearce
New York: Peter King and Tom Reed
North Carolina: Robert Pittenger and Walter Jones
Ohio: Steve Stivers
Utah: Mia Love
West Virginia: David McKinley
Wisconsin: Glenn Grothman

If your representative is a cosponsor, please write and thank them for their support. If their name is missing from this list, write or call them and request that they sign onto the bill. Click here to find your member of Congress and their contact information.

For more information, please contact Texas Credit Union Association President Jeff Huffman at 469-385-6488 or