Go to:

February 2019
< Jan Mar >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

Garner and Roy Elected to Foundation Board
Monday, December 19, 2016 6:50 AM

McCathran, Middleman, Nava & Spencer Re-elected

At its Dec. 9, 2016, meeting, the National Credit Union Foundation board of directors elected Kathy Garner, president/CEO of Catalyst Corporate FCU in Plano, Texas, and Carlyn Roy, president/CEO of TAPCO CU in Fircrest, Wash., to the Foundation board.

Garner was elected to the board seat recently vacated by Lee Butke, president/CEO of Corporate One FCU in Columbus, Ohio, and Roy fills the seat that Tom Dorety, president/CEO of Suncoast Credit Union in Tampa, Fla., held before retiring this year.

Also, at the board meeting, the following were re-elected:

  • Winona Nava, president/CEO of Guadalupe Credit Union in Santa Fe, N.M. (chairman);
  • Angela McCathran, president/CEO of People’s Trust Federal Credit Union in Houston, Texas (vice chairman);
  • Larry Middleman, president/CEO of CU Business Group, LLC in Portland, Ore.; and
  • Howard Spencer, director for Northland Area FCU, in Oscoda, Mich.

After Stan Hollen, president/CEO of CO-OP Financial Services in Rancho Cucamonga, Calif., retired earlier this year, Sarah Bang, EVP of industry relations at CO-OP Financial Services, was elected to his seat on the board.

In addition to the aforementioned, the members of the Foundation board are:

  • Jim Nussle, president/CEO of the Credit Union National Association in Washington, D.C. (president);
  • Courtney Moran, executive director of the Cornerstone Credit Union Foundation in Farmers Branch, Texas (secretary);
  • Bill Cheney, president/CEO of SchoolsFirst FCU in Santa Ana, Calif.;
  • Laida Garcia, president/CEO of floridacentral Credit Union in Tampa, Fla.,
  • Teresa Halleck, president and CEO at San Diego County Credit Union, in San Diego, Calif.;
  • Patrick La Pine, president/CEO of the League of Southeastern Credit Unions and Affiliates in Tallahassee, Fla.;
  • David Mooney, president and CEO of Alliant Credit Union, in Chicago, Ill.;
  • Christopher Roe, SVP, corporate and legislative affairs, CUNA Mutual Group in Madison, Wis.;
  • Patricia Wesenberg, president/CEO of Simplicity Credit Union in Marshfield, Wis.;
  • Edwin Williams, president/CEO of Discovery Federal Credit Union in Wyomissing, Pa.; and
  • Jeff York, president/CEO of CoastHills CU in Lompoc, Calif.

About the National Credit Union Foundation (
The National Credit Union Foundation is the charitable arm of the U.S. credit union movement and works as a catalyst to improve people’s financial lives through credit unions. Through Foundation grants and programs, credit unions provide widespread financial education, create greater access to affordable financial services, and empower more consumers to save, build assets, and own homes. Donations to the Foundation enable credit unions to help their members reach life-changing goals and achieve financial freedom.