Go to:

April 2019
< Mar May >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

EECU Announces 2018 Recipients of Annual College Scholarship Program
Wednesday, April 4, 2018 6:50 AM

EECU has awarded $40,000 in college scholarships to support eight local graduating high school students. The EECU scholarship program began more than 30 years ago and honors former board member Glenn Mandeville, a life-long educator. Since that time, EECU has provided more than $500,000 in scholarship money to local students.

“EECU has a deep commitment to education,” said Lonnie Nicholson, EECU President and CEO. “Higher education can be an essential springboard to building productive lives, but unfortunately, college costs also can be a significant burden. EECU is proud to be able to recognize and financially assist these deserving students, and we wish them tremendous success in their academic pursuits.”

At the annual EECU meeting on March 27, EECU recognized the following eight Texas students, who are 2018 scholarship recipients. Each student will receive a $5,000 scholarship from EECU:

  • Kara Derrick, Joshua High School, Joshua, plans to study business
  • Sonia Diaz, Young Women’s Leadership Academy, Fort Worth, plans to study civil engineering
  • Mana Galvan, Trinity Christian Academy, Hudson Oaks, plans to study education
  • Trevor Hall, Oakridge School, Arlington, plans to study biology
  • Hannah Lei, Arlington High School, Arlington, plans to study computer engineering
  • Colton Morrow, Fossil Ridge High School, Fort Worth, plans to study education
  • Bryan Shortt, Richland High School, North Richland Hills, plans to study biology/pre-medicine
  • Alena Williams, Fossil Ridge High School, Fort Worth, plans to study education

The students were selected via a review process that included academics, attendance, service to community, extracurricular leadership activities, references and an essay.