Go to:

May 2018
< Apr Jun >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

East Texas Professional CU Names 2016 Scholarship Recipients
Monday, May 9, 2016 6:50 AM

East Texas Professional CU Scholarship Recipients
2016 East Texas Professional Credit Union Scholarship Recipients. Not Pictured: Sheldon McCown, James Rice, Brent Thomas

The Board of Directors and management staff of East Texas Professional Credit Union recently awarded $20,000 in scholarship funds to 16 deserving seniors from area public high schools.

Scholarships were awarded in two categories. The East Texas Professional Credit Union McLauchlin Scholarship is a $2,000 honor for graduating high school seniors who wish to pursue an education degree. The East Texas Professional Credit Union Presidential Scholarship is a $1,000 honor available to graduating high school seniors who wish to pursue a degree in any field.

Recipients were selected anonymously based on their involvement in school and community activities, the content and completeness of their applications, as well as their all-around achievements.

“Education holds a special place in the history of East Texas Professional Credit Union,” said Byron Norton, ETPCU president and CEO. “Our institution was founded in 1953 by educators and, although our field of membership has expanded, education remains at the heart of our organization.”

East Texas Professional Credit Union has awarded a total of $318,000 in scholarships since the implementation of the program in 2001. Applications for the 2017 scholarship program will be available in September 2016.

2016 ETPCU McLauchlin Scholarship Recipients:

  • Karlee Burnaman – Martinsville High School
  • Donelle Fryman – Mt. Enterprise High School
  • Lexie Hamilton – Gilmer High School
  • Madelyn Thomsett – White Oak High School

2016 ETPCU Presidential Scholarship Recipients:

  • Nikki Acayan – Pine Tree High School
  • Morgan Arst – Marshall High School
  • Courtney Bremmer – Harmony High School
  • Sheldon McCown – Central Heights High School
  • James McNaney – Pine Tree High School
  • Trevor O’Connor – Longview High School
  • Tori Self – Henderson High School
  • James Rice – Central Heights High School
  • Bailey Skinner – Tatum High School
  • Hannah Smith – Henderson High School
  • Jessica Soltau – Longview High School
  • Brent Thomas – Central Heights High School

East Texas Professional Credit Union is a full service financial institution with 10 offices throughout East Texas and a membership base of more than 60,000. Membership is available to anyone who lives or works in Anderson, Angelina, northern Cherokee, Gregg, Harrison, Henderson, Nacogdoches, Panola, Rusk, Smith, and Upshur counties. Visit for membership information.