Go to:

May 2018
< Apr Jun >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

Distinguished Service Award Nominations Now Open
Thursday, December 12, 2013 6:45 AM

The World Council of Credit Unions is calling for 2014 Distinguished Service Award (DSA) nominations, to be presented at the World Credit Union Conference, July 27–30, 2014, in Gold Coast, Australia. The DSA honors individuals and organizations that have provided outstanding service to credit union development outside their home country. It is the international credit union system's highest honor.

"Since 1986, World Council has recognized key players in advancing the international credit union movement to where it is today through the Distinguished Service Award," said Brian Branch, World Council president and CEO. "The recipients each year remind us how important it is to extend financial access to people who need it most-not just at home, but around the world."

Individuals and organizations that have furthered World Council's vision of "building a global community" through their activities and achievements are eligible for nomination by World Council member organizations and their affiliated credit unions. Individual recipients may be women or men whose actions have significantly benefitted global credit union development beyond their national boundaries. Institutional recipients may be organizations or agencies that have provided financial or technical assistance to develop international credit union movements and their service infrastructures over an extended period of time.

The DSA is not an annual award; rather it is presented based on the proven achievements and worthiness of candidates according to the award committee's review. World Council presents up to one institutional and three individual awards in a single year. This year World Council will provide each DSA recipient with a complimentary conference registration and one companion registration for the 2014 World Credit Union Conference in Australia.

Nominations must be made by a World Council member organization and are due March 3, 2014. Visit to download a brochure and nomination form and see a list of past winners.