Go to:

July 2018
< Jun Aug >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

CUs Encouraged to Participate in Louise Herring Award Program
Wednesday, April 24, 2013 6:15 AM

The Texas Credit Union League (TCUL) and Credit Union National Association (CUNA) are pleased to sponsor the Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Member Service Award.  Texas credit unions are encouraged to participate in this year’s award program.  All entries must be submitted by Aug. 1.  As a member benefit, TCUL does not charge a fee for credit unions to participate in the National Recognition Awards Program.  And although CUNA charges an entry fee, as a member benefit, TCUL pays the entry fee for all Texas credit unions chosen to advance to the national competition.     

Beginning in 1990, the Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Member Service Award has commended credit unions that make exceptional efforts to include credit union philosophy in their daily operations and member service.  Programs that provide special assistance to low-income members struggling to pay heating bills or student-run in-school or campus branches, for example, are clear examples of the philosophy that sets credit unions apart from other financial institutions.

Entrants in the Louise Herring Award program compete in four asset categories or the chapter/multiple credit unions category.

For additional information, please visit the Awards & Recognition section of TCUL’s website at  If you have any questions, please contact Linda Webb-Mañon, TCUL vice president of communications & PR, at (469) 385-6486 or (800) 442-5762, ext. 6486. You may also e-mail