Go to:

April 2019
< Mar May >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

CUNA Board Election; Maurice Smith Named 2018 CUNA Board Chair
Thursday, March 1, 2018 7:00 AM

Maurice Smith
Newly elected CUNA Chairman Maurice Smith takes the stage at CUNA Governmental Affairs Conference.

Self-proclaimed “credit union nerd” Maurice Smith addressed the CUNA Governmental Affairs Conference Tuesday for the first time as the newly elected CUNA board chairman.

Smith, who is president/CEO of Local Government Federal Credit Union in Raleigh, N.C., said people have asked him what his agenda will be as board chair.

“My agenda is the board’s agenda, which is CUNA’s agenda, which is CUNA’s platform, which is all about your credit unions, and you all are all about your members,” he said. “So I suppose if I have an agenda, it’s your members’ agenda, your communities’ agenda. I’m here to further that agenda as best I can.”

Also elected during CUNA GAC was the rest of the CUNA Executive Committee. They are: 

  • Vice chair: Brett Martinez, president/CEO, Redwood Credit Union, Santa Rosa, Calif.;
  • Secretary: Troy Stang, president/CEO, Northwest Credit Union Association;
  • Treasurer: Brad Green, president/CEO, Listerhill Credit Union, Sheffield, Ala.; and
  • At-Large: Tony Budet, president/CEO University Federal Credit Union, Austin, Texas.

Newly elected members of the board are:

  • Lisa Ginter, president/CEO, CommunityAmerica Credit Union, Lenexa, Kan.;
  • Tom Kane, president/CEO, Illinois Credit Union League;
  • Maria Martinez, president/CEO, Border Federal Credit Union, Del Rio, Texas;
  • Pat Pierce, president/CEO, City and County Credit Union, St. Paul, Minn.; and
  • Fred Robinson, president/CEO, Tennessee Credit Union League.