Go to:

March 2019
< Feb Apr >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

Cornerstone Announces Leadership Conference Award Winners
Wednesday, September 12, 2018 7:00 AM

At this year's Cornerstone Leadership Conference and Expo, the Cornerstone Awards and Recognition Committee selected the recipients of the 2018 Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award, the Desjardins Awards for Financial Education, and the Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Member Service Award. The awards are given in several credit union asset sizes.

Dora Maxwell Social Responsibility Community Service Award

The Dora Maxwell Award was named after early credit union pioneer Dora Maxwell, one of the original delegates who established Credit Union National Association. Dora Maxwell worked tirelessly to develop volunteer clubs and organizations on behalf of the poor. This award is given to a credit union for its social responsibility projects within the community. This year's winners are:

  • First Place ($50M–$250M) – Diamond Lakes FCU
  • First Place (>$1B) – Texas Trust CU
  • Second Place ($250M–$1B) – 5Point Credit Union and Oklahoma Central Credit Union
  • Honorable Mention ($50M–$250M) – Tarrant County’s Credit Union
  • Honorable Mention ($250M–$1B) – People’s Trust

Desjardins Awards for Financial Education

The Desjardins program recognizes leadership within the credit union movement on behalf of financial literacy for all ages. Naming the award after Alphonse Desjardins emphasizes the movement's long-time commitment to youth as well as adults. Besides founding the first credit unions in Canada and the U.S., Desjardins pioneered youth savings clubs and in-school "banks," known as caisses scolaires. This award is given in youth and adult categories.

Desjardins Youth Financial Education

  • First Place ($250M–$1B) – Education CU
  • First Place (>$1B) – Weokie
  • Second Place ($50M–$250M) – Tarrant County’s CU
  • Second Place (>$1B) – RBFCU
  • Honorable Mention ($250M–$1B) – Oklahoma Central CU

Desjardins Adult Financial Education

  • First Place (>$1B) – Tinker FCU
  • Second Place (>$1B) – RBFCU

Louise Herring Philosophy-in-Action Member Service Award

The Louise Herring Award is given to a credit union for its practical application of credit union philosophy within the actual operation of the credit union. It is awarded for internal programs and services that benefit membership.

  • First Place (>$1B) – Tinker FCU