Go to:

March 2019
< Feb Apr >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

CFPB Announces New Advisory Board and Council Members
Tuesday, August 23, 2016 6:40 AM

Friday the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau announced the appointment of new consumer experts from outside the federal government to the Consumer Advisory Board, Community Bank Advisory Council, Credit Union Advisory Council, and Academic Research Council. The four bodies provide advice to CFPB leadership on a broad range of consumer financial issues and emerging market trends.

Two members of the Cornerstone Credit Union League have been appointed to the Credit Union Advisory Council: Faith Lleva Anderson, SVP and general counsel, American Airlines FCU in Fort Worth, Texas; and Ricardo Ledezma, corporate compliance assurance manager, San Antonio FCU in San Antonio, Texas.

“The Bureau’s advisory board and councils play an important role in making sure that the Bureau is taking into account the wide variety of perspectives and views in the consumer financial marketplace,” said CFPB Director Cordray.

The Credit Union Advisory Council advises and consults with the Bureau on consumer financial issues related to credit unions. In January 2016, the CFPB issued a Federal Register Notice outlining the responsibilities of the advisory groups, as well as the duties of its members, and solicited applications for appointment.

The newly appointed advisory group members include experts in consumer protection, financial services, community development, fair lending, civil rights, consumer financial products or services, representatives of community banks and credit unions, and scholars with relevant methodological and subject matter experience. New members to the Credit Union Advisory Council will serve two-year terms.

Credit Union Advisory Council Members:

  • Faith Lleva Anderson, SVP and general counsel, American Airlines Federal Credit Union, Fort Worth, Texas
  • Daniel Berry, CEO, Duke University Federal Credit Union, Durham, N.C.
  • Patrick F. Harrigan, chief risk officer and general counsel, Service Credit Union, Portsmouth, N.H.
  • Ricardo Ledezma, corporate compliance assurance manager, San Antonio Federal Credit Union, San Antonio, Texas
  • Sarah Marshall, CEO, North Side Community Federal Credit Union, Chicago, Ill.
  • Dayatra T. Matthews, SVP of legal and compliance, Local Government Federal Credit Union, Raleigh, N.C.
  • Amy Nelson, CEO, Point West Credit Union, Portland, Ore.
  • Raynor Zillgitt, VP risk management and general counsel, Lake Trust Credit Union, Brighton, Mich.

Get more information on the Bureau’s advisory groups.