Go to:

August 2018
< Jul Sep >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

Abbott Appoints Three to Texas CU Commission
Wednesday, July 29, 2015 7:00 AM

Governor Greg Abbott has appointed Steve Gilman, Beckie Stockstill Cobb, and Yusuf Farran to the Credit Union Commission for terms set to expire on February 1, 2021.

Steve Gilman is president and CEO of Members Choice Credit Union in Houston. Prior to Members Choice, he served as VP and COO of U.S. First Federal Credit Union in San Mateo, California, responsible for lending, collections, and branch operations of a federally chartered SEG-based credit union in the San Francisco Bay area. Gilman is the current president of the Houston Chapter of Credit Unions and a past president of the Credit Union Managers Association of Southeast Texas (CUMASET). He earned a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration from California State University-Chico.

Beckie Stockstill Cobb is owner and licensed health and life insurance agent of Stockstill & Associates in Deer Park. Stockstill Cobb served as Councilmember, Position 5, for the City of Deer Park for 12 years, ending May 2014. During her tenure, she chaired the Economic Development Committee, served on the Revitalization Committee and chaired the Historic/Tourism Committee for the city. Stockstill Cobb is past president of the Texas Municipal League, Region 14, comprising of Harris and 17 surrounding counties, and served as president of the Harris County Mayors and City Council Members Association. Stockstill Cobb received an associate degree from San Jacinto College in Pasadena.

Yusuf Farran is an energy solutions engineer at Johnson Controls, Inc. in El Paso. He formerly served as executive director of facilities at the Canutillo Independent School District. He is a member of the U.S. and Texas Society of Professional Engineers, and former member of the El Paso City and County Health Board, El Paso City Water Conservation Advisory Board, El Paso Community College Foundation Board, and El Paso Ethics Commission. He received bachelor's and master's degrees in engineering from the University of Texas-El Paso.