Go to:

April 2019
< Mar May >
Leaguer Email Subscription

You are not currently subscribed. Click Subscribe below to receive the Leaguer email.

2017 Capitol and ImPACt Awards Winners Honored at Cornerstone Annual Meeting
Friday, April 14, 2017 6:40 AM

This year's awards ceremony at the Cornerstone Credit Union League's Annual Meeting saw the newly designed Capitol and ImPACt awards winners. Honorees received awards for their grassroots advocacy efforts and their contributions to their respective state political action committees.

Capitol Award Winners
The Capitol Award acknowledges credit unions at two levels, based on their asset size: those $50M or less in assets and those greater than $50M. To receive the Capitol Award, credit unions must participate in essential advocacy activities including Project Zip Code, meeting their PAC fundraising goal, responding to legislative and regulatory calls to action, participating in CU: R.O.A.R, and meeting locally with state and federal lawmakers.

In the category of "$50 Million or Less in Assets," the winners are:

  • Gary Parker, 1st University CU
  • Windy Campbell, Arkansas Employees FCU
  • Donna Thomason, Arkansas Health Center FCU
  • Jamie Flores, Doches CU
  • Betty Chandler, Electric Cooperatives FCU
  • Jason Boesch, Energize CU
  • Nancy Croix-Stroud, First Class American CU
  • Debbie Gatlin, Pine FCU
  • Jon Matthews, Southland FCU
  • Tim Adams, SPCO CU
  • Suzanne Chism, Texas Health Resources CU
  • Andy Reed, Texas People FCU
  • Linda Stanton, UP Arkansas FCU
  • Kay Rankin Swan, Ward County CU

In the category of "Greater than $50 Million in Assets," the winners are:

  • Angie Owens, American Airlines FCU
  • Shawn Bailey, AMOCO FCU
  • Dwayne Ashcraft, Arkansas Superior FCU
  • Larry Shropshire, Communication FCU
  • Tammy Passafiume, Diamond Lakes FCU
  • Crystal Long, GECU
  • Craig Atkinson, Houston Highway CU
  • Steve Gilman, Houston Texas Fire Fighters FCU
  • Sherry Gray, Northeast Arkansas FCU
  • Gina Wilson, Oklahoma Central CU
  • Mark Kelly, Oklahoma Employees CU
  • Angela McCathran, People’s Trust FCU
  • Dee Edie, Pine Bluff Cotton Belt FCU
  • Chris O’Connor, Randolph-Brooks FCU
  • Jim Brisendine, Resource One CU
  • Sean Cahill, Southwest 66 CU
  • Chuck Rutan, Southwest Airlines FCU
  • Jim Minge, Texas Trust CU
  • Mike Kloiber, Tinker FCU
  • Tim Lyons, TTCU, The Credit Union
  • Tony Budet, University FCU
  • Brent Taylor, WEOKIE CU

ImPACt Award Winners
The ImPACt Award recognizes individuals, credit unions, and chapters for their PAC contributions in two ways:  actual dollars contributed to their state PAC as well as the percent of goal achieved in various categories. The winners are:

  • The Top Credit Union Contributor to ARCUPAC is: Arkansas Superior FCU
  • The Top Chapter Contributor to ARCUPAC is: Central Arkansas Chapter of Credit Unions
  • The Top Credit Union Contributor to OCUPAC is: WEOKIE Credit Union
  • The Highest Percentage of OCUPAC goal raised by a credit union is: Red Crown FCU
  • The Top Credit Union Contributor to TCCUL PAC is: Randolph-Brooks FCU
  • The Top Chapter Contributor to TCCUL PAC is: Houston Chapter of Credit Unions
  • The Highest Percentage of TCCUL PAC goal raised by a Chapter is: Pineywoods Chapter of Credit Unions
  • The Highest Percentage of TCCUL PAC goal raised by Credit Union is: Houston Highway Credit Union

The top individual contributors to the Political Action Committees in each state are:

  • The Top Individual Contributor to Arkansas' ARCUPAC is Allen Brown from Mil-Way Federal Credit Union.
  • The Top Individual Contributor to Oklahoma's OCUPAC is a tie. Winners are:
    Mike Kloiber from Tinker Federal Credit Union and Kelly Diven from Truity Credit Union.
  • The Top Individual Contributor to Texas' TCCUL PAC is Craig Atkinson, Houston Highway Credit Union.

Cornerstone VP Political Affairs Gretchen Ziegler said, "The enthusiasm we see from our contributors and the tremendous success we have in our PACs are due to our committed credit union professionals who, regardless of asset size, understand the value of engagement and electing credit union-friendly candidates at local and federal levels. I congratulate each one of this year's winners and all those who help elevate our PACs to some of the strongest in the nation."